2018 Confucius Cup


PingZone Table Tennis Club organises quality tournaments with levels ranging from club players and lower league divisions to top Irish players - great opportunity to play many games against variety of opponents, and also a chance to win some nice prizes.

PingZone Table Tennis Club is grateful for the sponsorship of the 2018 Confucius Cup, by the UCD Confucius Institute for Ireland, which offers a range of evening courses about China, its language and its culture.

Previous years results and final match video at Confucius Cup 2016Confucius Cup 2017   


UCD Confucius Institute




Saturday 02/06/2018
Qualification rounds / Open event. Mixed.

Hall open from: 10:30am-10:00am
Check-in: 11:30am-12:00pm.  

Important: If you're not in at your check-in time, your name will be scratched! 
Please send a text if you're running late or can't make it. 

time rounds
12:15 round 1 - groups 1-12
14:30 round 2 - all groups
16:45 round 3 - divisions 2-4 KO
19:30 finish

Sunday, 03/06/2017
Finals - KO. Please note that some players might be seeded to start from Sunday.

Spectators very welcome!

Preliminary schedule below, but earlier rounds might change
time / table1234
1/8 (men)12:00x1x2x3x4
1/8 (men)12:45x5x6x7x8
18:45prize giving

UCD Confucius Institute
Open singles cash prizes (top division):
  • winner: €2000 & Perpetual Trophy
  • runner-up: €1000
  • semis: €500

Highest placed women bonus:
  • 1st: €500 & Perpetual Trophy
  • 2nd: €200
  • 3/4: €100

(with a separate KO women finals if they get knocked out from the main event)

Entry fee

€20 for non-members
€16 for PingZone members (monthly, yearly or juniors)

Registration and payment through MindBodyOnline.
You can also pay cash in the club in advance.


Entries closed


  • This is an open mixed singles tournament, and online registration and payment is required to secure your place.
  • White plastic Nittaku Premium 40+ *** balls (Made in Japan) will be used.
  • All matches are best of 5 games in Qualification Round (Saturday), and best of 7 in KO finals (Sunday)
  • All players are required to umpire matches as indicated on the result forms, including all players loosing their game in the final single elimination stage who are required to umpire one of the subsequent matches.
  • ITTF and ITTA rules apply. See ITTF Regulations for details.
  • If you've registered and cannot play, please notify us as soon as possible to remove you from the list so the reserve player can take your place, otherwise you will be excluded from participating in future tournaments. No refunds will be provided if you withdraw from the event.
  • List of registered and reserve players may be published online before the event.
  • Full results and some photos / videos will be published after the event.
  • Some players might be seeded to start in round 2 or round 3.
Tournament rounds (subject to change, based on the numbers registered)
  1. Groups of 4 players, round-robin. The tournament will start with groups of 4 players playing each other, provisionally seeded by current ITTF & ITTA ranking / Leinster League division. Top 2 players from each group will play in division A, bottom 2 will play in division B in next round.
  2. Groups of 4 players, round-robin, separately for each division. 
  3. Final - single elimination for the top division. 


Roman Pszonka
e-mail: info@PingZone.ie
mobile: +353 85 7886910


Everyone check-in: 11:30am-12:00pm

Abram Pawel
Barnes Paul
Bialek Artur
Burke Kieran
Carey Charlotte
Dapkus Kristijonas
Devereux Brian
Devereux Sabina
Dorner Laura
Finn John
Gallagher Paul
Godlewski Przemyslaw
Harrison John
Heller Claire
Hickey Fionn
Hickey Orqo
Horejsi Miroslav
Jacobson David
Judge Colin
Karczewski Krzysztof
Korycki Michal
Logue Sam
Lynch Raymond
Mackey Kevin
Max Ong Jian Hao
McAlister Mark
McAnaney Sean
Minakata Kimiko
Moravcsik Gellert
O Rahilly Egan Mia
Oncioiu Stelian
Pandey Amod
Paskal Ivan
Pofok Tibor
Przewlocki Maciek
Pucar Tomislav
Ragi Pravesha
Rajska Natalia
Redden Paul
Saeed Kevin
Smith John
Strelcuks Roman
Sulkowski Dawid
Szulc Joris
Tan Bruce
Ussher Michael
Velling Constantin
Walker Sam
Yu Lei
Zalewski Michal
Živković Suzana